Carrier Ratting Meta

So, it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything here. I’ve been busy with university (doing a Masters in Linguistics now), and generally haven’t had much to post about. A lot has changed for me in-game: I’ve moved to a new corp and alliance which are more PvP focused, extracted all my industry SP, and became a capital pilot, although the only thing I can currently fly well is the Nidhoggur. I am training up characters to fly the Minokawa and the Naglfar, and eventually a sitter to fly the Hel. I know people hate a lot on super sitters, but the idea is for this character to not only sit in it but also become better at flying it than my main. I currently don’t know if I’m even going to inject FiBos into my main at this point.

Anyway, let’s talk about the current meta around ratting in carriers. I use a fully PvP-fit Nidhoggur to blast through havens at a rate of about 4 per hour, usually netting me around 60mil bounty ticks (nets to about 180mil/hr, better than incursion income by 30mil). My fit (opsex) has nearly 2mil EHP, letting me tank long enough to light that cyno and bring in the FAX machines. I generally do 10 havens at a time, and rarely go below 90% shields, even if a dreadnought shows up.

Few would disagree that this is good money in relative safety, assuming there are FAX machines on standby and that I’m not a bad who fails to light a cyno before an inhibitor goes up. For most gangs I wouldn’t even need to light the cyno, because the fighters would just annihilate subcaps anyway.

Given these facts, it’s hard to believe people still use shield booster shitfits. You will never need to run it for normal ratting, and it won’t do jack shit in an actual engagement other than drain your cap so you die sooner.

But what about when we don’t have triage on standby?

If you don’t have triage on standby and you go out carrier ratting, you’re an idiot. MAYBE if you live balls deep in null and have a comprehensive intel network, but at that point you should be organized enough to have triage on standby.

The meta has moved away from carriers with shield boosters. Leave the old meta behind, lest you be left behind with it (minus your carrier, because it will die sooner rather than later).

Then there are the idiots that forgo a tank in favor of max application (the single armor rep isn’t a real tank that can save you in PvP). I honestly don’t know how much more money you get in ticks by replacing all tank with omnidirectionals/nav computers, but I doubt it will be more than some 5-10mil per tick. This at the cost of any and all defense on the carrier. This means that in the time it takes triage to jump to you, you’ll not only be almost dead, you’ll also have no real resists to support the incoming reps, and will probably die. And then your alliance mates will laugh at you for being a bad, and it will be deserved.

Just don’t do it.

 

Leave a comment